Consumer Education

2018 Kansas Financial Scholarship Contest

2018 Scholarship Contest Winners

2018 Financial Scholars Essay Contest Winners

Pictured left to right: Jordan Hawman, Elise Artzer, Daniel Nolasco, Governor Jeff Colyer, Holly Mills, Jazmyne Florio, Securities Commissioner John Wine.

Congratulations to our 2018 winners!

1st Place: Holly Mills, Derby High School, $2,500PDF Icon
2nd Place: Elise Artzer, Wamego High School, $2,000
3rd Place: Daniel Nolasco, Scott Community High School, $1,500
4th Place: Jordan Hawman, Jefferson West High School, $1,000
5th Place: Baleigh Fry, Great Bend High School, $500

Honorable mentions ($250 each): Hallee Lang, Thomas More Prep-Marian High School; Andrew Cunningham, Saint Thomas Aquinas High School; Jazmyne Florio, Derby High School; Keaton Means, Kansas Home School.

Teacher Awards
Robin Groskurth, Derby High School - Teacher of the First Place Student, $150
Aaron Dirks, Scott Community High School - Teacher with the Most Valid Student Entries, $100

For more information about financial literacy programs offered by the Office of the State Bank Commissioner or the Kansas Financial Scholarship Contest, contact Dana Branam, Director of Consumer Affairs, at 785-296-1783.

Previous Scholarship Winners

Click here to view past winners and read the winning essays!